TAKE A LOAD OFF!

P1000302

15 years ago country singer Tracy Lawrence wrote a song titled “If the World Had a Front Porch”. In it Lawrence spoke about his front porch and how it transcends the physical into the metaphysical.

“It was where my mama sat on that old swing with her crochet
It was where grandaddy taught me how to cuss and how to pray
It was where we made our own ice cream those sultry summer nights
Where the bulldog had her puppies and us brothers had our fights
There were many nights I’d sit right there and look out at the stars
To the sound of a distant wippoorwhill or the hum of a passin’ car
It was where I first got up the nerve to steal me my first kiss
And it was where I learned to play guitar and pray I had the gift
If the world had a front porch like we did back then
We’d still have our problems but we’d all be friends
Treatin’ your neighbor like he’s your next of kin
Wouldn’t be gone with the wind
If the world had a front porch like we did back then”

Porches are on most houses where I live now. All different shapes and sizes. We sit on them all the time. The charming spot above is in our neighborhood. You see your neighbors, wave to passersby, and whittle away the hours reading, just sitting, or daydreaming. It’s that time of year folks…finally! Enjoy every moment while it lasts.

9 thoughts on “TAKE A LOAD OFF!

  1. Perfect! Side porches, back porches, front porches, and four seasons porches… love them all. We live on our porches! All I need is a bathroom, small kitchen and a porch(or two)… 😀
    Great summer post, Margie. I remember sitting on the porch with my Dad 50 years ago listening to boxing on the radio every Friday night! Porches are where it all happens… drinks, food, reading, bird watching, and laughter!
    As I type this, our four seasons porch is getting slate put down! So excited! Just want the guy to get done so we can put all the furniture back out there and throw open the windows!

      • I will shoot you one! Either email or Intsa Direct! It’s a dark tile so I don’t know how it will show up! Maybe I will stand on a ladder… 😀 Why do installer guys have to make such a mess to create something so nice???????????????????????????? 😀 I know you went through big redo! I would go crazy!

  2. What a lovely little place. Just last night I took a snap of my porch turned “office”. Working at home didn’t seem so bad w a glass of wine and a sunset.
    xoxo

  3. What a wonderful post, Margie!! Reminded me of my childhood and sitting on the front porch! Growing up in the South, that’s just how it was. Thank you for bringing a smile to my face😘

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

