A visit to CRANBROOK GARDENS

Not sure where to start when describing the once private estate of George Gough Booth and Ellen Scripps Booth. I spent a couple of peaceful hours in the gardens which surround the estate house. The educational community which sits on 319 acres in Bloomfield Hills, is comprised of Cranbrook Schools, Cranbrook Academy of Art, Cranbrook Art Museum, Cranbrook Institute of Science and Cranbrook House and Gardens. You may read about this wondrous facility here. I live less than 3 miles away, and always kick myself for not visiting regularly as there is so much to see and do.

Here is a small sampling of what awaits you at Cranbrook.

Look what I found at the little gift shop attached to the house

A sweet gardening apron which I shall use when I am communing with nature. It has three large pockets to hold my camera, notebook and pen, phone, wallet and anything else I need at the ready. I love it! The perfect ending to a lovely outing. So glad you could join me!

Hugs, Margie

16 thoughts on “A visit to CRANBROOK GARDENS

  1. Margie, thank you for sharing these great photos with your subscribers. We definitely encourage you to come back and visit Cranbrook House and Gardens again and welcome all your fellow bloggers to witness the wonders first hand as well. We recommend purchasing a season pass for only $25 (if you haven’t already) since you live so close!

    Cranbrook House and Gardens is maintained primarily through the commitment and dedication of Auxiliary volunteers. Admissions fees ($6/adults, $5/seniors, $15/family) help achieve the mission of conservation, restoration and preservation of the Cranbrook founders’ home and gardens. Visit our website to learn more about Cranbrook House and Gardens and how you can become a volunteer:

  2. Lovely peaceful looking garden and so close to you. We all forget places closest to home don’t we? This year we decided to give time to visit our local gardens and nature reserves. We are really enjoying doing so.

  3. How wonderful that you live close to this beautiful place! Such a labor-intensive garden makes me feel a little faint, but as long as someone else is doing the work, that’s fine with me.

  4. oh my goodness. that garden! the shot of the greenery w/ the trees and lane gave me such a sense of peace. beautiful, margie. thank you for sharing.

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

