I’M SEEING SPOTS!

Okay, dots. My art pal, Harriet, sent me this article. A perfect post for today as the new semester of art class begins. We already tried to convince our peach of a teach, Diane, via emails, to allow us to do this to our classroom at the Birmingham Bloomfield Art Center. We will strong arm her today, LOL! Wouldn’t this be a blast? Of course, being adults, we would probably get hung up in design aesthetics instead of sticking dots with abandon!
The last one makes my eyes cross, Margie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids (reposted from Colossal Art & Design)

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This is What Happens When You Give Thousands of Stickers to Thousands of Kids stickers kids installation art

This December, in a surprisingly simple yet ridiculously amazing installation for the Queensland Gallery of Modern Art, artist Yayoi Kusama constructed a large domestic environment, painting every wall, chair, table, piano, and household decoration a brilliant white, effectively serving as a giant white canvas. Over the course of two weeks, the museum’s smallest visitors were given thousands upon thousands of colored dot stickers and were invited to collaborate in the transformation of the space, turning the house into a vibrantly mottled explosion of color. How great is this? Given the opportunity my son could probably cover the entire piano alone in about fifteen minutes. The installation, entitled The Obliteration Room, is part of Kusama’s Look Now, See Forever exhibition that runs through March 12.

34 thoughts on “I’M SEEING SPOTS!

  1. Wow wow wow!! It is fantastic. I would love to see those kids’ faces as they were let loose with their dots!! Fab. Thanks for sharing this, it really brightened my day. 🙂

  2. Okay…I’m probably the only wet blanket here, but this room drives me crazy at both ends of the spectrum: the white and then the plastered with dots. I feel antsy when looking at the final pictures and I have a great need for lavender and violet in the mix. I’m not sure what that says about me. My folks let me color on walls, and I did give the church youth paint and they graffitti’d their youth room. I thought both were pretty cool, maybe because they were personal renderings…but the dots….ooooo let me out of that room. Thanks for the experiment. Now I need to go to a therapist.

    • Sorry about that pal. Hope you didn’t linger too long. Clearly long enough to need a visit to the therapist! Never really thought my blog would drive anyone to counseling, but there is always a first time for everything, LOL. I would love to see the graffitied room. Fun idea.

  3. {jumping up and down excitedly}

    Guess what?
    Guess what?
    This is just a couple of hours drive down the road from me!
    I get to go dotty…..some would say dottier!

    Yippeeeeeee!

    xxx

  4. this warms my soul… makes me smile too. you make me smile as well, it’s like i look for you, and when i don’t “see” you, i think… now i wonder what margie is into. ah, friendship, makes the heart sing. : )

    xoxo

  5. love this! funny, the post i just read on another blog was about Wonder Bread and their rainbow dot packaging… 🙂

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

