NO WAY!

Welcome to the world of Cayce Zavaglia. I first saw her work on pal Felicity’s blog and knew I just had to share her incredible talents with you. Why does she stand out from the crowd? Look close, these were “painted” with crewel embroidery yarns. Incredible right? I would not have guessed these were stitched in a million years. I was blown away. Cayce states “I still consider myself a painter and find it difficult not to refer to these embroidered portraits as “paintings”. Although the medium employed is crewel embroidery wool, the technique borrows more from the worlds of drawing and painting.”  That is for sure Cayce! Makes me want to grab my crewel project and start stitching, although I probably won’t, LOL! Still working on getting things in order for my etsy shop. That is at the top of my list right now.

Inspired hugs, Margie

15 thoughts on “NO WAY!

  1. Wow! I just found you through the embroidery tag, and I’m glad I did! these are AMAZING! Puts the piece I’m working on right now to shame…to say the least.

    Liesi @ Too Crewel

  2. Love, love, love this talent!

    Can’t wait to read what your friends think….I think what I admire most (beyond the incredible patience of course) is that she mixes her threads together (just like paint) to get the right colour combinations for the different tones on the faces….how must her mind work?

    If I had to put myself out on a limb , I’d say this is ‘true’ art.

    Happy day Lovely and thank you for the shout out.
    xx’s

  3. No way. This is unbelievable. I cant believe this is not paint!!!! The talent out there is fantastic. I had to look twice when u said it was crewel

    Btw margie. Your comments on my blog make me laugh every morning!! Thank u
    Hey when am I going to see stuff in ur etsy shop?”’

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

