MAGIC CALENDAR by Kazuko Hayama

January through June

July through December

Front Cover

Back Cover

You can imagine how thrilled I was to receive this exquisite, handmade calendar in the mail from Judy Hayama, a lovely woman I met at Golden Door in October. Her sister, Kazuko Hayama, is the artist that creates them. It is called a Magic Calendar as it opens like a book one way to display January through June, but when you flip the book over and open it, July through December appears. The whole piece is not much larger than 5″x 5″ and not much more than a quarter inch thick, so it stands to display in any spot, so you can feast your eyes on its beauty AND know what day it is or will be!

This gift is certainly one I will keep long after 2011 is a passing memory. I wanted to share this as you may want one for yourself and/or as a gift for someone you know. Kazuko will make them available in sets of 2 for $30 (which includes shipping & handling). That is amazing, as I can only imagine how long it takes to make one! Kazuko does not have a web site, but if you are interested, you may e-mail her at kazuko.hayama@gmail.com with your request. Kazuko says I am always happy as long as I have time to create things. I feel so fortunate that I have been enjoying this luxury since I quit my job 10 years ago.” You all know I can relate to that as my soul is happiest when I am nurturing its creative side. XO, Margie

3 thoughts on “MAGIC CALENDAR by Kazuko Hayama

  1. I am so honored that my calendar is on your blog site. It looks so great!
    Yes, it is a lot of work, but what is most rewarding is that people really appreciate my work and keep it all year around.
    Thanks Latebloomerbuds!

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

