HOLY MACKEREL!

WELL, THE GOOD NEWS IS I AM NOT EXPERIENCING ANY PAIN THANKS TO MY TRUSTY PAIN PORT PUMP (SAY THAT THREE TIMES REAL FAST). HOWEVER, IT KEEPS MY ENTIRE ARM AND HAND WITHIN THE CAST COMPLETELY NUMB. THE MEDICINE BAG IS CONTAINED WITHIN A POUCH WITH A SHOULDER STRAP. SO YOU CAN IMAGINE THE JUGGLING IT TAKES TO CONTAIN IT ALL FOR A TRIP TO THE LOO. BENT OVER TO FLUSH EARLIER TODAY AND THE BAG SLID OFF MY SHOULDER AND ALMOST WENT IN THE DRINK! AWWW, BUT MY LIGHTENING FAST REACTION, EVEN ON VICODIN, SAVED THE DAY. IT’S LIKE A DEAD MACKEREL FLOPPING AROUND EVEN WHEN CONFINED IN A SLING, WITH A MIND ALL ITS OWN. I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW BIZARRE IT IS TO NOT FEEL LIKE IT IS PART OF YOUR BODY. AND, IT GOES WITHOUT SAYING I COULD CLUB SOMEONE SENSELESS IF I FOUND MYSELF IN A PICKLE. I HAVE TOLD MY HUSBAND HE BETTER FINE TUNE HIS CARE-GIVING SKILLS OR ELSE! HE ACTUALLY TRIES VERY HARD (I’M SURE YOU WOULD GUESS I’M NOT A DEMANDING PATIENT), BUT IT IS CLEAR MEN SUCK AT MULTI-TASKING. LOL! THIS HAS PROMPTED ME TO ASK THE GOOD LORD TO KEEP THIS IN MIND WHEN CONTEMPLATING THE LATTER YEARS OF OUR LIFE TOGETHER! GOOD GRIEF AND HALLELUJAH, LEFTY

10 thoughts on “HOLY MACKEREL!

  1. This post brought back memories of my own broken arm days. My hubby isn’t very good at caregiving or cooking. I learned how to make thing one handed. Tricky but when I was hungry, I was inventive. Hope things are moving along better for you. Love your photos.

  2. One thing for sure: no matter what, you always have your sunny side up. I love this in you and this gives me also lots of inspiration. Thank you! Heal fast before you adopt LEFTY as your middle name … 😉

  3. That’s our Margie we have come to know and love–always able to find some humor in even the worst situations!! Thinking of you girl!! Speedy recovery!

  4. We are all happy to hear that your surgery went well. I didn’t know there were pain pumps for appendages. That’s a great fix.

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

