DOWN FOR THE BIG TEN COUNT!

AH, THE GLORY OF NORTHERN MICHIGAN IN THE WINTER.  IT WAS MOODY GRAY AND I WAS SNAPPING AWAY, MICHAEL AND QUINCY UP AHEAD JUST A BIT. WE EMERGED FROM THE WOODEN BOARDWALK IN THE WOODS AND WERE WALKING ON THE STREET TOWARD HOME, WHEN AN ICY PATCH TOOK ME DOWN HARD, SNAPPING MY RIGHT WRIST LIKE A TWIG. YES, THAT BELOVED RIGHT APPENDAGE THAT ALLOWS ME TO BLOG LIKE A MANIAC. SO, I HAVE A SOFT SPLINT CAST WHICH GOES ABOVE MY ELBOW, AM TAKING PAIN MEDS WHICH COULD KILL A MOOSE AND HAVE TO SEE A HAND DOC THIS WEEK AS SURGERY MAY BE IN ORDER. I WENT TO MY COMPUTER THIS MORNING AND COULDN’T LAST TEN MINUTES. I AM TYPING THIS ON MICHAEL’S LITTLE LAPTOP, FROM THE COUCH, IN CAPS, ARM UP AND IMMOBILIZED, WITH MY LEFT HAND . PLEASE BE PATIENT WHILE I NAVIGATE THESE UNKNOWN WATERS. I WILL TEMPT YOU BY SAYING I GOT SOME LOVELY PHOTOS BEFORE MY BIG DIVE AND WILL SHARE THEM AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. STAY TUNED AND BEWARE OF LURKING ICY PATCHES! XO, MARGIE

10 thoughts on “DOWN FOR THE BIG TEN COUNT!

  1. Done that, been there, and it’s really not fun. Four years ago, an uneven sidewalk got me. Only thing, it was my left wrist – non-dominant hand – so I still able to write. I became very agile at using my one hand and my cast to do lots. Surgery gained me a plate and three pins, and I fell in love with the x-ray and talked the technician into giving me a copy which I then made into a postage stamp. I hope your recovery is as full and complete as mind. In the meantime, over the chilly air, warm thoughts are headed your way.

  2. Poor Margie! And I thought the reason you didn’t show up at Between the Covers was that you were afraid you’d get my cold! I’m so sorry your trip here didn’t have a happier ending. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a positive experience for you with your “bone Dr.” this week. I know you’re going to turn this into a wonderful story and a positive experience — you always seem able to find the silver lining. 🙂

  3. Honey!
    I am so sorry to hear about your injury! I will pray for your speedy recovery. Meanwhile, before you head for the hospital, dictate one of your patented inspired haikus (or recycle one) and enter in the following Freep contest. You can use the cosmetics prize to make you feel better after the surgery. [fyi, I had a little incident a few years ago and Satoko is very gentle with post-surgical appointments!]

    Holiday haiku could be a
    winner

    By GEORGEA KOVANIS
    FREE PRESS STAFF WRITER

    Holiday season

    You will sparkle so brightly

    With this great makeup

    And with that fabulous haiku, welcome to this
    week’s holiday giveaway.

    One lucky reader will win almost $500 worth of
    makeup and accessories, including a lovely
    evening clutch, from M.A.C. cosmetics’ latest
    line. It’s a limited-edition collection from Dutch
    industrial designer Marcel Wanders.

    To enter our contest, send us an original holiday
    haiku — a three-line poem where the first line is
    5 syllables, the second is 7 syllables and the
    third is 5 syllables.

    Make sure to include your name, age, city of
    residence and daytime phone number in your
    entry, write “haiku” in the subject field and e-
    mail it all to us at fashion@freep.com. We’ll
    announce a winner in next week’s paper.

    Meanwhile, congrats to Sandra Guerro of
    Northville, winner of last week’s Estée Lauder
    giveaway.

  4. I, too, gave it a good stomp as I walked by it the other day. Stay strong, girl!

    Hey… is it snowing in here?

  5. I killed the ice patch in retribution today. Salted it to death, then hacked it with an ice chipper. It was a painful death either way. I sure hope those pain meds are working. I expect more typos while you’re on Vicodin. Maybe you should down a bottle of wine with the next dose. If Michael doesn’t wait on you as you deserve, just remind him how I took care of the ice patch. And I know where he lives.

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

