CHI WALKING!

Although I was only up north for what seemed like 10 minutes, I was able to see my dear friend and back door neighbor, Rochelle. She has always been a pretty lady, in good shape, very active, only a year younger than me, but when she bounded out the door to greet me, there was a marked change in her being. She was as trim as I’ve ever seen her, she glowed and the way she carried herself took my breath away. I said “Holy Shit, you look amazing!” Turns out, she has been Chi Walking for the past year and credits that as the single biggest change she has made. Needless to say, I downloaded it to my Kindle the second I got home and have started reading it. If you walk as your form of exercise, I highly recommend you check it out. It makes great sense and is easy to understand. As far as I am concerned, any time we can add something so positive and zen like to our daily routines, I’m on board. Rochelle is the poster child and she didn’t even know it. If you try this, let me know what you think and I will do likewise. For you runners out there (Amy R. and Karen are you listening?) Chi Running was his first book. Reviews say both books incorporate a lot of the same principles, but obviously, if you run instead of walk, that would be the one to get. http://www.chiwalking.com/shop/home.php. Already feeling more zen like, Margie

6 thoughts on “CHI WALKING!

  1. Hey Margie, Read up on Chi running and found it to be very interesting and really agree with what they are saying. Being a runner for the past 20 or so years I have found that when I really clear my head and focus on my run, breath, pace and strengthening my core I can really go. I feel more at peace and relaxed when my head and body are one and am soooo in to it. Meditation has been a great way to train my brain not to “wander” and to help me connecting with my breath with my body. Cool stuff thanks for sharing!!

  2. Margie, something new I learned at my physical yesterday: walking shoes are good for 500 miles, even if they still look great, get rid of them and buy a new pair. I just started having some numbness along the top of one foot and my doctor said it was tarsal tunnel syndrome (nerve getting compressed) and told me I HAD to buy new shoes. I figured out I had over 2000 miles on them. So if you’re walking, figure out how many miles and keep track. The other issue I had was pain across one of my feet about 40 minutes into the walk. My chiropractor told me to get arch support (I have high arches) and once I got those orthotics put in my shoes, the pain went away. Makes sense, if you have any foot balance issues; flat feet, high arches, falling in or out, get good orthotics and then change your shoes every 500 miles.

    Oh, my doctor (Wendy WALKER), said she was going to look up Chi Walking when she went home that night, as walking is also her favorite form of exercise.

  3. For any skeptics who are thinking, “Duh, I already know how to walk.” I said the very same thing to my wonderful chiropractor who introduced me to Chi Walking. I was having “issues” and thought it was just my age. Around the same time I also took part in a Zen and Horseback Riding clinic at the barn where I board my horse. I was dumbfounded to find that the posture, breathing, & amp; body mechanics for riding and Chi walking were identical. I could practice “riding” while I was walking. This incorporates your upper body, your core (psoas muscles) as well as your lower half.

    I can’t wait to hear how it goes Margie. It’s all body awareness. Right up your “zen” alley.

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!