THEY STILL EXIST?

I was on my way to get the dog groomed the other day when I passed one of those digital billboards for Pontiac Silverdome. They were advertising their Drive-In Move Theatre. WHAT!!!! It is hard to believe they still exist. I am convinced they can’t be anything like the drive-in theaters of my childhood. Now, they probably have metal detectors at the entrance! But never mind, I don’t want to ruin the visual in my mind. Immediately, I had a flash back. I was at the Bel-Air Drive -In at 8 Mile and Van Dyke in Detroit. I grew up in that area and back then, it was a different place than it is now. I lived in a little bungalow with one bathroom for the entire family whether you had one kid or ten, near 8 Mile and Schoenherr. Seemed like a palace to me, where you played outside with the neighborhood kids until the street lights came on. I can vividly remember how excited I got when it was announced we were going to the drive-in! You would always go while it was still light, but you would be in your pj’s because you were always sound asleep long before the movies ended. I can remember the feeling of being carried from the car, half asleep, to my bed in the middle of the night. It was such a treat to get something from the concession stand, which was filled with a cornucopia of goodies. But the coup de grace was going to the huge playground which was always in the area just below the screen. Gazillions of kids swinging, twirling on the merry-go-round, and going up and down on the teeter totter.They always had a couple of old school cartoons before the movies actually started, and back then it was a double feature!!!! Remember the dancing hot dogs and popcorn boxes? When you went to the drive-in you were there for at least ten hours…..at least it seemed that way. In retrospect, movies where so much shorter then, but STILL, it seemed like forever. I can almost feel the air, the car windows open, the crackling of the state-of-the-art single speaker which hung on the driver’s side window. Yeesch, can you imagine the reaction kids today would have to that ancient sound system. How about laying in the back seat or trunk area of the car with blankets and pillows, looking out the back windows at the stars. The movies were never the focal point of the excursion for me. It was everything else. To reminiscing, Margie

2 thoughts on “THEY STILL EXIST?

  1. Hey Margie!
    Loved this post…you have to visit the Cherrry Bowl Drive-In in Honor Michigan near the Sleeping Bear National Park. Here is their website http://www.cherrybowldrivein.com.
    It is a blast from the past! They serve full dinners, they have putt-putt for the kids and they announce that they’ll “never show an R or X-rated movie, ’cause we just don’t like ’em!”

Thank you for letting me know you've been here!

