BACK TO SCHOOL!

37 Comments

My dear friend, Debbie, teaches 5th grade at Emerson School in Ann Arbor. A couple of weeks ago, Debbie invited me to be a guest in her classroom to celebrate National Poetry Month. Yippee! I was so tickled and honored. For years, she has been using my haiku to teach her students. Awwww.

I arrived and this was waiting for me on the cool beans, new fangled bulletin board.

I smiled from ear to ear! She interacts with it from a power point presentation she creates on her laptop!  Debbie introduced me and started an interactive discussion with her students and filled in the board as she went along. Neato keen!

Look at the way she combined my haiku along with a couple of my photos! I was blown away!


Did I mention I love this board?  

Then it was my turn. Again, yippee!! I read haiku from my Young Adults  Booklet, and was tickled pink I held their interest the entire time. As you may guess, I was quite animated and maybe just a bit dramatic. You can’t tell in this photo, but I was, LOL!Debbie’s students were smart, attentive, interesting children. When I finished, they began to compose their own haiku, and were quite excited to share them with me. Although we ran out of time, they were going to illustrate their haiku, and Debbie was going to make a booklet of them. Of course, I’m first in line to get a copy.

A parting haiku for me!  I adored seeing my friend of many years in her element.

Debbie is the type of teacher no child will forget. She is a brilliant educator, and knows how to relate to her students, no matter what grade she is teaching. I was beaming watching her in action.

Many thanks Debbie for including me in your program, surprising me with the unexpected invitation, allowing me to partake in the fun, and for a totally delightful afternoon! It is not one I shall soon forget.

Off to art class with memories of this special day, Margie

Author: latebloomerbuds

I am happy as a clam when I am being creative. Writing for this blog, expressing myself through haiku poetry, exploring nature and life through zen eyes, and dabbling in various art mediums, makes my spirit sing.

37 thoughts on “BACK TO SCHOOL!

  1. I think it’s grand that you shared your talent with your friend’s students. That’s so important in education. As teachers, we appreciate it when we have a real person who is connected with the subject we are teaching come to “show & tell”. It is very meaningful to the students, and it shows them how Haiku can be used in “real life”. You helped create a memory LINK with those children that they won’t forget. And aren’t those “Smart Boards” amazing? ;) Technology!

  2. What a wonderful day for you Margie, and what a special treat for the students and your friend. Thank you for sharing, I smiled knowing you had smiled all day long, :-)

  3. good luck everywhere to read your Haikus, Margie!

  4. Hi Margie, How very wonderful!

  5. Margie I can really well picture you having a great time. What a nice opportunity to connect with not only your friend but great young minds ….. At the same time you introduce them to poetry.
    Good for you!!

  6. An imaginative and creative teacher. And how nice you participated too Margie :)
    Cheers!

  7. What an incredible experience, Margie. In fact, it inspired a haiku of my own:
     
    Looks like you had fun
    Reading this was great fun too
    Thank you for sharing.

  8. Wow, Margie! How exciting for you! There must be a teacher in you too! Your friend sounds like she influences many lives in a positive way… :-)

  9. How wonderful, Margie! Such an honor for you and for your friend to spend the day in creativity with each other and with the children.

  10. hello margie, too bad you do not live in ohio – i have some little ones you could visit. teaching is a challenging and wonderful career. i’m glad you enjoyed it, and that your friend loves it, too.

  11. I love the photos too. ;-) I’m finally catching up again on blog posts. Thanks for your patience! :-)

  12. Very fun Margie! I am sure you were a fun guest and related well to the kids. I am sure they found you a delight. Your friend is a teacher I would have enjoyed. Maybe I would have liked school much better than I did. I had two cool teachers, my Latin teacher and my English Comp teacher.

  13. that is very cool! interactive guest teaching. :)

  14. So beautiful, so beautiful… Thank you dear Margie, with my love, nia

  15. I know that day was a treat for you! Knowing Debbie and you, the classroom had to be filled with tons of fun! Have a great day, my friend!

  16. Oh, wow! That takes me back to my teaching days. My kids loved having guests visit and were really interested and gracious hosts.

  17. How very cool. Proud to know you Margie.

  18. As a retired head teacher I am most impressed.

  19. That was so cool. You must of had such a good time teaching. I think you would have made a wonderful teacher. It is never too late

  20. lucky children having such a skilled and loving teacher …and you for the day too!

You know how much I love to see your smiling faces here!

