BOURBON STREET AFTER DARK

37 Comments

Let’s light the way with neon signs!

Bourbon Street really looks better at night.

Enough neon for you? I captured Bourbon Street, leaving out the parts which may be offensive to many. It is not for the faint of heart.  Most of the bars have bands that are really, really good, and cover all types of music from country to 80’s to disco to blues and jazz all day long.  It’s fun to pop into one when you hear a song you love, the melody spilling out from inside, dance for one song, then pop back out! That’s easy to do there.

Boogie on, Margie

Author: latebloomerbuds

I am happy as a clam when I am being creative. Writing for this blog, expressing myself through haiku poetry, exploring nature and life through zen eyes, and dabbling in various art mediums, makes my spirit sing.

37 thoughts on “BOURBON STREET AFTER DARK

  1. You’ve captured the atmosphere well in these photos, Margie! Bravo!

  2. Lots of lights, lots of variety, and looks like lots of fun to be had! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Always a city that has something for everyone!

  4. Great pictures Margie! Wow, I know NO is rowdy but “not for the faint of heart” and “hedonistic” and you had to censor. CH and I may be too old for that now. I like my quiet. :) I guess I have become boring! I still love the idea of zydeco and muffalettas though :D

    • Thanks Pix. You know, NOLA has so much more to offer than Bourbon Street, and Bourbon Street is an very unique place. However, Bourbon Street, and I am being totally honest, is not for everyone, especially at night. It is always packed to the gills, so believe me, lots of people love it!!! I just wouldn’t want to make it something it is not, have someone go, and be taken aback by some of the establishments that make up this very famous street. Oh how I love Zyedco, muffalettas and beignets, oh my!!

  5. Interesting photos that shows a culture of its own …thanks!

  6. Nice photos, looks like a lively place. I can imagine the sound of Squirrel Nut Zippers :)
    Here’s a tip for you:

    http://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/blogging-tips-crop-resize-your-photos/

  7. a fantastic atmosphere there!

  8. WOW! These are amazing and great fun… Wonderful photographs you captured. Thank you dear Margie, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  9. Awesome photos. You are truly a wonderful photographer. Certainly is a festive and busy place. You’re going to have to come home to rest up from your vacation. ;)

  10. Being here in Miami I am addicted to and appreciation the neons which you captured well. But still I always felt the alleged glitz of Bourbon Street was pretty small townish, a mimiature Disneyland for people that like to drink and party.

    • It is filled with neon, but not the least bit glitzy. It’s not even small townish Carl, but quite seedy and is definitely a hedonistic place for adults to party if it is your cup of tea. Fortunately, there is a lot more to New Orleans than Bourbon Street, otherwise, we would never have gone back.

  11. What a time we would have!! Fantastic shots Margie!! Boogie on!!

  12. Boogie on yourself, Margie. Nice Share. I think I like the ‘Jazz Funeral’ sign the best. Does that make me morbid?

  13. cool photos, margie. take care of yourself. enjoy and be safe.

  14. I love all the neon signs, Margie. I really like the little figures on the funeral sign.

  15. I loved the pictures. I have never been there. I would love to go there. My heart is not all that faint.

  16. the only thing i thought was odd was pizza by the slice at the cajun cabin? :) sort of appreciate the censorship – don’t know if i have enough energy for that this aft. ha!

  17. brings back memories of long ago … love the signs …i can hear the music just looking at them! thanks margie xx

  18. I love the song ‘Moon Over Bourbon Street’ by Sting & these have now put more pictures in my head! Thank you! Fabulous!

You know how much I love to see your smiling faces here!

